How to use the read more tag.

type102

Using the ” read more ” tag in your posts means that your front page is not crowded with full length posts.

It also means that people cannot read your posts without clicking the post, this will give your post a clickΒ for your stats.

If you insert the tag at 1/4 or 1/3 of the way down the post, people can decide whether or not they want to continue reading the post or not.

Below there are instruction on how to use the read more tag.

When write a draft post you must write in visual to see the ” more ”

 

When you write a post decide where you want the tag, at the top of your draft post you will see this.

Click the button fourth from the right on the top line.

12

You can see it here.

13

Then click save, that’s the tag inserted into your post.

53 responses to “How to use the read more tag.

  1. I don’t have it on my posting pg. perhaps because I don’t have a paid blog.

    • None of my blogs are paid, all free as most are, and all blogs have it.
      But on the right hand side of the draft page you will see visual and text, you must write in visual to see the more tag.

  2. I use it from time to time, mainly so I can see when a post actually gets a visit. But it can be awkward to use in the big image mosaics I post, and there’s the potential for unintended display screw-ups as well. What I want is to find a theme that I both like and automatically does front page post excerpts too.

    • When posting images, put two letters below each other to separate them, then insert the ” more tag ” between the two letters , then delete the letters.

      On the forum I have seen people ask for that and I do not think there is one as all front pages are standard , if you use the tag sure that is an excerpt.

  3. Ha! You probably don’t remember but you were after me three years ago to use this function on my blog. I’ve still failed to get it done!!

  4. I never use it. I find it irritating. Anything that means another click is annoying. But there again, I take the view that people either want to read my blog or they don’t. I’m more interested in comments than stats. Each to their own. I wasn’t even aware you used it because I tend to read your blog when it comes up on Reader so I get the full post up anyway.

    • OMG πŸ™‚ one more click πŸ™‚

      Its really to stop the endless scrolling though large posts on a page, I’ve been to blogs were people forget to stop writing, scrolling, scrolling to get to the next post.

      enough of my little rant, this comments long enough πŸ™‚

  5. Reblogged this on Comedy in Crisis and commented:
    Makes sense to me

  6. I’m always up for learning new things but sometimes there are too many to process all at once.

  7. I love to use “Read more” tag because my welcome page looks neater that way πŸ™‚

  8. Great hint! Thanks for the share πŸ™‚

  9. Thanks, Harry πŸ™‚

  10. Interesting, cheers for the tip.

  11. When did you get so techno-savvy, Harry? πŸ˜‰

  12. That is a really great option, saw it there and didn’t know what it was for! Thanks for the info. πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: Just a Note: September 30, 2013 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  14. Thanks Harry for writing a post about this, I’ve bookmarked this page for reference and I will use this in the future as you have requested !

  15. Thank you really that is really helpful!

  16. Harry, thanks so much for a link to this tip. I’ll try to remember to utilize it now πŸ™‚

  17. Groovy- that was super helpful! Took a lot of time, but I edited my entire blog using this feature. Thanks for sharing.

  18. Oh Harry , I do apologize for not putting in the read more. I know how to do it. I was up all night and just simply forgot to do it… My bad… I promise to try to remember to do it every time. So very sorry. Blessings, Debbie

    • No problem Debbie I could not remember if you new, one other thing, can you cut your copyright down in size, if you look at the poems above you that’s how most do it, sorry to ask πŸ™‚

      • You mean the font size? Sure! I have fibromyalgia and most weeks I only have two to three nights where I sleep . So… I read , and write, and play computer games, and write… all night long. Last night was my third night in a row! so, I was having a pretty bad case of brain fog!

  19. That’s a really bad thing we have a friend who has it.

    No not the font size, most authors who put as copyright in limit it to this as in Dorinda’s post Β©2016 Dorinda Duclos All Rights Reserved

  20. “I can’t remember that far back :)” Yeah Right… you never forget Anything Harry… lol

  21. Not yet.. these new “Free” templates make people work too much to find a “Like” or “comment” section as it is. I can get 60 views and just 3 likes… I only have four articles on it so far anyway. But I do have a new one.
    http://techstopcafe.com

    • Very few click ” like ” you will get more views. Are you using the old or new dashboard.

    • If it’s the old dashboard it’s the old stats, far better than the rubbish new one.

      But someone has made a work around the new one.

      • Yes, I work around it daily… I can’t stand the new editor either – caused me to lose 53 minutes worth of writing one day last month… the second and LAST time I’ll try it. I was encouraged to give it another shot by one of the “Happiness Engineers” who probably helped build it… so I did. You can imagine how “Happy” I was… after 53 minutes of writing, only to see it all disappear with NO REVISIONS to be found anywhere β€” even when I went back to the Old Editor… Oh well, I got over it.

  22. Don’t edit on the post, go top left to dashboard and down to posts etc, that should be the old editor

I appreciate any comments you leave, and thank you for reading my posts and please call back again.

