Poem: The mist- Haiku.

Yahoo.photos

The mist has now descended

Blocking the senses and my thoughts

It will go, when my mind clears.

7 responses to “Poem: The mist- Haiku.

  1. And a happy Haiku to you too Harry…hmmm, when your mind clears?
    Gonna be a long winter, huh? lol
    Bless You Brother

  2. Thanks Paul, our winter snow is over 🙂

  3. Indeed it will.
    We are all alike in this. 🙂

  4. it is lovely Harry…well done, great imagery
    Hate to tell you this but technically it is not a haiku…because it has more than 17 syllables. I know this because I have a couple of poet friends who write a lot of haiku and when I try it they are quite pedantic on what you can and can’t do in a haiku
    This is quite a good site for understanding what is and what isn’t a haiku.
    http://www.tempslibres.org/tl/en/theo/mode02.html
    And if you are interested…go here and read some of Matsu Basho’s haiku…he is generally considered to be one of the masters of the form.
    http://thegreenleaf.co.uk/hp/basho/00bashohaiku.htm

  5. Jo, i’m going to have to look up what syllables are 🙂 i know the lines should be 5-7-5 but sure i’m only pretending to be a poet 🙂

    Thanks for the links and i will go over and have a look.

    • So did you have a look Harry…did it make any sense ?? I think it is [from what I understand] more important to adhere to the 17 syllables than the lines. Did you have a look as Basho’s…man I love his work.

I appreciate any comments you leave, and thank you for reading my posts and please call back again.

