My lost hearing.

I have always been blessed with good hearing, and as the saying goe’s ( i could hear the grass grow. ) But over this past two years i and others have noticed that i have started to ask them to repeat what they have just said. Or if I’m in a room with a lot of people i found it impossible to listen to one person speaking.

I always blamed them for talking to softly or mumbling but they always said they were not and i was to blame.

So i made an appointment to go to the hospital for a hearing test. I knew what it entailed so it did not bother me going.

The doctor put me in  a sound proof room, fitted earphones on me and said to press a buzzer when i heard a sound. The test lasted about half an hour and after i came out i think i did very well , so now was the time for the verdict.

The doctor told me that the low-pitched sounds were fine but i had a problem hearing the high-pitched sounds, which to me seemed strange, i thought it would be vis-versa.

So now I’m going for a hearing aid ( don’t laugh ) he put one in his ear and its so tiny i could hardly see it, it’s not a hearing aid as such, its to catch high pitched sounds only.

Well, he took an impression of my ear and it will be ready in six weeks for me to go and get fitted and try out, i hope it works because if it doe’s not it will go in the drawer.

Look out for part two coming soon ” Harry gets his hearing aid. ”

18 responses to “My lost hearing.

  1. I have one in each ear and you will be surprised by how much you didn’t hear. It will all be very loud for a week or two. 🙂

  2. Well you know what they say about deaf people… Whatever the hell you want. 😀

  3. Meh! I have to ask people to repeat things all the time, too. I had my hearing tested and, while I have some hearing deficits, I was sent home with instructions to looks at people when I converse. Imagine that: face-to-face conversations! 🙂

  4. Sweets, you ever had tinnitus?

    Useful sometimes though, turning a deaf ear 🙂

  5. I’ve always had super hearing, compensated for the crap eyesight. Awful being deaf in one ear, but great to tune out peripheral noise. Not happened for a while funnily enough.

  6. You are lucky to have such few problems at such an age. And honestly hearing is probably the best of it. I mean its better than not being able to see, or move properly or smell properly. 3 of my grandparents died at a young age. Good luck anyway 😀

  7. Pingback: My lost hearing ( part 2 ) | dribblingpensioner

I appreciate any comments you leave, and thank you for reading my posts and please call back again.

