I agree, it should be part of history, let the families try to get back to being normal, and let the dead rest.

17 responses to “

  1. Indeed. I wrote a general post, but it was inspired (?) by seeing an awful lot of 9/11 comments that seemed to be delving in the past and not achieving anything.

    How many deaths in NI over the years? far more. As you know. And as for the Spanish Civil War? Huge numbers. The only point of remembering the past is to learn from it – not that we ever do.

  2. I’m not one to dwell in the past. I was just struct my how much today reminded me of the day 11 years ago–same clear blue sky. All is peaceful here just as it was 11 years ago. Up here, that is. It’s a reminder how things can change in an instant and how I can be so insulated from what[s happening not so very far from me.

    I don’t thing we should dwell in the past; but I don’t think we should ignore it either, lest we fall into the trap of repeating the mistakes that lead to unnecessary tragedies–personal, national, or global.

  3. You should not ignore it but leave it to the families to mourn and remember.

  4. Thanks for the reblog, Harry. I agree. It’s time to leave the families to mourn in private.

  5. So if you are all ignoring it why are you talking about it?

  6. I hear you Harry but I didn’t lose a family member so I won’t comment.

  7. However, I guess I just DID comment!

  8. I do chose to remember and to cry on each anniversary. And, it’s been 11 years.

    • Yes Addie you should, i think the post means the public anniversaries should be stopped and leave it to the families and the likes of yourself to remember.

  9. I think it was sad that many were lost that day but I can’t help but remember the thousands that America has killed because of their politicians’ greed and and quest to dominate those that are less powerful than them or disagree with them over religion or morals. I have to say it Harry…America had been asking for retaliation for years. Since the 2nd World War America has either invaded or surreptitiously been responsible for causing over 70 different countries governments to fall. Some times to their detriment so they go back in and do it again [Afghanistan for example]. You cannot expect that everyone will just roll over and play nice back when you do these things to others. What they went on to do in Iraq was unspeakable. Yes Hussein was a madman, but they have plunged that land into a morass. And all so that they could control oil. How many innocent Iraqis have died for Bush’s insanity? 10 times the amount, at least, who died on 9/11. Where are the memorials for those innocents ???

    • When Britain had an Empire, they went into a country, ruled and made the country better and got out many years later.
      America does destroy the countries it goes into and causes so many deaths its unbelievable , take Vietnam for one.
      It seems every President must have his own little war.

I appreciate any comments you leave, and thank you for reading my posts and please call back again.

