Comments by default changed back again

Default comment settings changed.

WordPress has changed yet again the settings at comments only this time they have returned it back to the way it was.

This is the link to the post in WordPress at the start of this saga.

http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/follow-comments/

This is a great move because the WordPress community has more or less stopped commenting.  Most blogs have removed the button or the people on left it ticked on selective post / blogs.

So now we can all put the button back and comment and get comments the way we did. People have reported that comments have dropped of by over 50%, and i would agree.

If you would like to re-blog this post just to let your followers know that this has happened.

27 responses to “Comments by default changed back again

  1. I’m glad they listened to all the complaints. And I do rather wish they’d stop fiddling with things!!!

    Here’s to us all getting back to happy commenting

  2. Hmm, I didn’t really notice much of a comment drop-off. I did notice less visitors with the change in topics, and now they are fiddling with the little orange box in the top right which is now a notice. Talk about if it aint broke dont fix it 😦

    Why don’t they just ask what we like and don’t like or want, and don’t want? Easy huh? Unless you are a programmer.

    • I had a slight drop in comments but its the follow on or return comments that have been hit. Visitors are normal.

      Change in topics, orange box, i know nothing 🙂 i let them get on with it.

      • let them get on with it and you’ll end up with less visitors and less comments 🙂

        I haven’t had less return/follow visitors must say though.

        But I’ve strangely acquired an eclectic, intelligent, thinking group of people who comment on my blogs, so they are probably bright enough to sort out comment boxes. Unless they like getting loads of emails of course……..

    • You have an eclectic, intelligent, thinking group of people who comment, where did you get them from, surely it wasn’t WordPress:)

  3. YAY! *happy dancing*
    Veggiewitch ♥

  4. AgrippingLife

    Why do people have to “fix” what’s not broken?

  5. Until you pointed it out, I had no idea what was going on–I simply knew my inbox was full all the time! Thanks for the initial heads up and the current status

  6. Hey, Harry. Just wanted to stop by and thank you again for the help. I think I have it straightened out now. It was awful kind of you.

  7. Well as annoying as their tampering may be at least they’re prepared to listen and act upon complaints. But I wish they’d change the notification system back to how it was…

  8. Fair comment, I didn’t explain that very well, my apologies. I was referring to the orange box at the top right corner. Previously it informed you of how many updates you had. Now it simply goes orange. It seems an odd move to make it less informative than it was before.

    • Lance i never ever use it, i don’t see any need for it, but i clicked it and there were 10 there which i already knew about.

      I only use the blog comments and my emails, that’s all people should need, that’s what i have used for nearly four years.

      Adding things that are not needed will confuse newcomers and me 🙂

  9. Thank goodness, I got sick of emptying out my email inbox….and I agree with Lance’s comments about the previous display of numbers in the little box….it was quite helpful.

  10. Most of my comments go to Spam Folder. Dunno why.

    Cheers !

  11. No. My comments don’t appear on their comment section. Those who bothered to check out their Spam folders saw my name. Once unspammed, I get to comment normally again.

  12. Thank goodness! I was about to drown in email notices! 🙂

  13. Pingback: Comments by default changed back again : Love All Blogs

I appreciate any comments you leave, and thank you for reading my posts and please call back again.

