The World’s fattest man.

World’s fattest man is revealed to be British and weighs 58 stone.

I hate what I have done to myself.

Pictured is Briton Keith Martin, 42, who has been named the world’s fattest man at 58 stone.   Photo from : Channel 5 News.   Story from Yahoo news.

The round-the-clock care Mr Martin needs is to be shown in a documentary which will be screened later this month. Because his health is so fragile he has a team of 18 people looking after him – including his sisters, nurses and ambulance staff.With a 6ft waist the former warehouseman, 42, is now wider than his 5ft 9in height.Mr Martin’s daily diet includes eight hotdogs and ham sandwiches for breakfast, a selection of chocolate bars and biscuits for lunch and two roast dinners with a whole bag of oven chips, the Daily Mail reports.

He spends the day watching TV leaving his bed only for vital health check-ups.

Mr Martin is one of a million Britons who have developed the lethal condition which was triggered following the death of his mother.

Mr Martin told Channel 5: “My mother died when I was 16 and I didn’t care about anything after that and I couldn’t care less about what happened to me – I ate anything and everything,” the Mail quoted him as saying.

“I blame myself. It was my fault and I hate what I have done to myself.”

During the first episode of ‘Big Body Squad’ on Channel 5, viewers will learn how his army of carers battle to get his sheer frame home following a stay in hospital.

The series aims to raise awareness of the plight of those who suffer from being extremely overweight.

‘Big Body Squad’ begins on Wednesday, February 22, at 8pm on Channel 5.

30 responses to “The World’s fattest man.

  1. You’d think that someone would’ve intervened before he became so unhealthy? What were his friends and family waiting for?

    Maybe he didn’t have friends or family? I think sometimes addicts can become quite abusive to the people around them… in which case it’s hard to feel sorry for them.

  2. Why did he let himself get into this state? Surely he could see what was happening to him years ago. I guess food addiction is as bad as drugs or alcohol addiction.

  3. There’s always something that triggers problems like these. His mother dying probably caused his depression which led to his self-medicating with food. It’s sad, but you would think that he would be able to see how bad it was getting and then put a stop to it before he did this much damage. 😦

  4. All that personal care must be costing a fortune when it could be better spent on people with terminal illnesses which are not self inflicted, and sick and dying children.

  5. jessielansdel, i agree with you, and my own view is but its cruel, they should not be given all the help. Its their fault and he is still inflecting himself at this present time.

    And thank you for your visit and please call back some time.

  6. Told you to stop taking photos of me in bed Harry, jeez.

  7. I agree with Jessie as well. I’d spend the money on personal care and force him to eat healthy meals.

  8. This is a sad and difficult situation to understand; a couple of pounds overweight and you should start thinking of doing something about it. Not completely letting go and then wonder what happened.

  9. how sad – and that his family enable him by helping him eat all the rubbish

  10. It is sad. On a more brighter level: good gear needs to be kept under a solid roof?

  11. I really do not understand people letting themselves get to this state. As for his family…. well.

  12. and who ends up paying for all of this medical care? Everybody else….

  13. Sad, very sad, I pray for the big fellow..

  14. This is a really sad story. How could he end up there without anyone intervening. Where were the rest of his family along the way?

  15. His waist is wider than I am tall. Something’s seriously wrong there. Has he been recommended for a gastric band, or is that too dangerous? It’s a shame he didn’t get counselling to move through the death of his mum in the early stages. It wouldn’t have been cheap, but he, and us, are surely paying dearly now.

  16. I see a lot of people commenting about who is helping him, and dribblingpensioner, I have to agree with you comment to Jo in a way. It sounds very much like a case of enabling. It may not seem the nicest option, but perhaps there needs to be a little give and take when it comes to the system, working with the patient and having a firm rule, “we help you, as long as you help you.” Its such a shame that the system so often works on simply “maintaining” rather than taking a more long term approach. As you have pointed out in the last post, yes it would possibly be more expensive initially, but in the long run, a much cheaper option!

  17. samanyabraith, as you say,maintaining is a bad thing and is no cure for the problem.
    Thanks for visiting and please call back.

I appreciate any comments you leave, and thank you for reading my posts and please call back again.

