Annual flu vaccination

Flu vaccination.

It is now october and the time has come around again for the winter flu vaccination ( what fun ) we both got our reminders 4 days ago.

Flu occurs every year usually in winter and is highly infectious, the symptoms include fever, chills, headache, aching muscles, cough and sore throat.

In Great Britain last winter 608 people of all ages died from the flu.

In Britain it is free to the following people.

Pregnant woman.
Anyone over 65.
Children who did have a chest infection.
School children with severe learning difficulties
People living in a residential or nursing homes.
careers for elderly or disabled people.

Children and adults with the following:-

Chronic chest condition such as asthma
Chronic heart condition
Chronic liver disease
Chronic kidney disease
Diabetes
Lowered immunity due to treatment

Chronic neurological conditions such as:-

Strokes
Multiple sclerosis
Cerebral palsy

There are others, but check with your doctor for the full list.

If you have an allergy to chicken eggs speak to your doctor first.

There are no lasting side effects from the injection.

So get protection, get the injection, not an infection.

34 responses to “Annual flu vaccination

  1. I hate needles, but I’m doin’ it. I just caught my first stooopid cold of the year, and I’m reminded of how much worse the flu actually is. So, I’ve got to go.

    Seriously.

    I am.

    Probably. πŸ˜‰

  2. I can’t think of anyone who enjoys injections, but true influenza is a serious virus. Thanks for the reminder and education for this important issue.

    I’m getting mine in November at my dr. appointment.

  3. Try to pass yourself as a pensioner πŸ™‚

  4. Apparently what I *need* is glasses. Because I read your title (TWICE) as “Anal Flu Vacation.” I’ll admit, I was intrigued.

  5. Here in the US they even give them at the grocery store so you can get it while you shop. No reason to avoid getting it. Good post!

  6. I stopped getting this shot about 10yrs ago, and I’ve not once been sick. WHen I took the shot I was always sick. Weird.

  7. Jennifer, getting sick for a short time can be one of the side affects, i think that’s better than getting the flue.

    • That’s the thing…when I stopped getting the flu shot, influenza stopped attacking me. Every time I got the flu shot, I was sick sick for a week. So sick laying on the floor hoping for my saviour. I have not had the flu in 8+yrs, and I do not get the shot. But that’s just me.
      I don’t like the government telling me what to inject in my body, I like to make that decision.
      But great post!

  8. Since I have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, I fall under the “Must Get Flu Shot” category. I do. And I’ve been flu-less (and clue-less) for many years. For a self-claimed grumpy old guy, you sure did a nice public service announcement! πŸ˜‰

  9. Mr Piglet was offered the flu injection in Portugal as he comes under “high risk” However, when he asked the nurse would she have it….she said NO!

  10. Take the shot, you better safe than sick, but what is the reason the chicken allergy should be mentioned? Do they use something from a bird? (I know nothing). My husband gets shot every year (this sounds odd, not my fault, it is your language) and he doesn’t get sick, which is convenient, because this way he can take care of me when I do πŸ™‚

  11. @Ina, i knew it was made in hens eggs, but heres what it says.

    How the vaccine is made.
    The seasonal flu vaccine contains three different types of flu virus (usually two A types and one B type). For most vaccines, the three strains of the viruses are grown in hens’ eggs. The viruses are then killed (deactivated) and purified before being made into the vaccine.

    That’s why you have to say you have an allergy to hen eggs.

    As for getting the ” shot ” thats an American thing, it is not an English saying.

  12. Hi Sara, cover your eyes and listen πŸ™‚
    Vitamins are only an aid to replace items your body has lost through the day or replace what you do not have enough of, but taking to many can also do you harm, also they can do nothing to prevent a virus attacking your body the virus is only immuned to something that is made to fight it of.

    So there you are. thats the good news. now get the injection.
    OK, you can uncover your eyes now πŸ˜†

  13. I still can’t bring myself to let someone inject me with a virus that is supposed to stop the virus I have never had to begin with…but, not to worry, I think I ate a dozen of the eggs they cultivated it all in…
    Bless You
    paul

  14. The only time I ever had that injection I was poorly after it – so I have never had it since!!!

    Although I must be on the list because I got a text message from my doctors surgery the other day!!

    David

  15. Hey, DP. I
    I’m responding to your request for my real name for your links – it’s Ed Wozniak.

    Plus I’m thanking all of you whose feedback I respect for a new milestone. For October 8th I hit a new Single- Day high for hits at 12,577. This replaces my previous Single- Day high of 2,336 on a day in early January of this year.

    So thank you for reading and for offering feedback that helps me attract readers.

  16. I have Diabetes, so I’m getting one next Saturday. I take 5 injections a day, so I’m quite used to needles… but I always seem to pass out after the flu jab! My body must just not like whatever they have in the needle. Plus, my arm aches for days after. Work later on Saturday evening is going to be interesting, ha ha!

  17. My sister-in-law has Diabetes and she goes on Tuesday, so we will see how she gets on.
    You may not make work, thanks for your visit.

  18. The only two times I’ve had the injection are the years I got the worst flus I have ever had – I’m not doing it again…

  19. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    At work we have the option of a flu virus, & don’t have to pay. I really appreciate that. Some do, some don’t, and it’s all just up to you.

  20. wordsfallfrommyeyes, you are lucky you don’t have to pay for it, and thanks for your visit, please call again.

I appreciate any comments you leave, and thank you for reading my posts and please call back again.

